Conservation Commission

The Conservation Commission is a volunteer board comprised of seven members who are appointed by the Board of Selectmen. The Commission has the statutory responsibility of administering the Wetlands Protection Act (General Laws Chapter 131, Section 40), Article XXXI of the Town of Holliston Bylaws, and other relevant laws, including the Rivers Protection Act. The Commission manages nearly 1,400 acres of land, donated or purchased for conservation and/or wetland protection purposes.

Holliston's Wetlands Bylaw, Article XXXI, and its Regulations protect Holliston's natural assets, including wetlands, related water resources, and certain adjoining upland areas, by providing for prior review and control of activities deemed to have a significant or cumulative adverse effect upon protected resource values. Activities within 100 feet of a wetland or 200 feet of a stream are subject to protection under the Bylaw. Protected resources include, but are not limited to:

  • Public and private water and ground water supplies and quality
  • Wildlife habitat, including vernal pools and rare species habitat (including rare plant species)
  • Adjacent "upland resource areas" (as defined in the Regulations)
  • Floodplains (which help to prevent storm damage)
  • Open space and recreation areas

The Conservation Associates is a volunteer group of concerned citizens who provide conservation land maintenance and conservation education support to the Commission; their support is greatly appreciated by the Commission. For more information about the Conservation Associates, including Holliston Conservation land trail maps.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Ryan Clapp Conservation Agent 508-429-0607

Board Members

Name Title
Eilish Corey Vice Chair
Utah Nickel
Ann Marie Pilch Chair
Allen Rutberg Ph.D.
Nicole Smith
Sneha Narayanan
Matt Clark