

Traffic Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes Tuesday, 11.19.2019

Meeting called to order at 7:00 pm. Jaime Sipsma, Tina Hein, Drew Horton, Maxwell Emery, Stacey Raffi, Sean Reese, and Henry Dellicker present. Chief Cassidy and Chief Stone absent.

Member introductions took place with all seven members explaining their reasons for joining the committee. Henry Dellicker stated there would be no votes at this first meeting, other than to elect officers.

Committee officers were nominated. Tina Hein moved to appoint Chief Stone as Chair, seconded by Henry Dellicker, unanimously approved. Tina Hein moved to appoint Chief Cassidy as Vice Chair, seconded by Jaime Sipsma, unanimously approved. Stacey Raffi moved to appoint Drew Horton as Clerk, seconded by Jaime Sipsma, unanimously approved.

Henry Dellicker made a request for a paid clerk to record meeting minutes to allow the Clerk the ability to fully participate in discussions.

Tina Hein presented concerns and expectations from the Select Board for the committee to consider, including recommendations on the implementation of Chapter 90, sections 17C and 18B. There was some discussion on recommending town-wide versus street-by-street implementation of the law. It was reiterated that this committee is to advise the Select Board through recommendations made by committee vote. These recommendations are to be presented semi-annually at a minimum.

There was no discussion on Police concerns or expectations. This item will be moved to unfinished business on the next agenda.

The resident petition from Locust Street will be moved to the next agenda for a possible vote on recommendations. The petition process, in general, was discussed and members expressed confidence in approaching resident concerns by petition.

Members outlined concerns and expectations. Drew Horton asked about performance measures and data collection to track progress made by the committee.

The priority of improved signage throughout was discussed, with the possible need for increases in budget line items and additional grant funding.

Sean Reese expressed a goal of the advisory committee advocating for support through additional resources for DPW, in order to implement recommendations.

Tina Hein expressed goal of the advisory committee supporting Select Board funding requests of state representatives.

Jaime Sipsma expressed a goal of the committee supporting related warrant articles when needed.

Stacey Raffi and Maxwell Emery expressed goal of improving pedestrian and bicycle education.

Next meeting scheduled for Wednesday, December 11 at 7:00 pm. Motion to adjourn at 8:35 pm by Tina Hein, seconded by Drew Horton, unanimously approved.